Am i qualified?

mustangscoach

11-man fan
I have a question for all of you six man gurus. In 1995 I graduated college and started teaching/coaching in a small pk-8th grade school. Currently I teach 5-8 science and do all the coaching. I have no AD and have been through 7 superintendents. Everything i have learned in the last 15 years I have had to figure out for myself. My school is nearly always the smallest dog in the fight.(about 70 kids in PK-8) We usually have 6-8 girls in basketball, and 8-12 boys in football and basketball including 6th graders. (I know these days a lot more schools are at these numbers) This past year my boys went 5-2 in football. We lost to BC and GC (not often you can say you only lost to state champion programs) and 15-1 in basketball. Needless to say this was an exceptional year and they don't always go this well. I often see head high school positions opening and wonder if I'm qualified. I know I don't have the experience to be an AD and that usually comes with football. I would also be interested in basketball, or even girls basketball. My question is this. Does 15 years as a do it all jr high six man coach make you qualified to do it in high school? By the way I am secondary science certified.

Thanks for all your replies.

I am sure no one would question your ability to coach, but it may be hard to find a head job in high school straight from JH. You may have to be an assistant at the high school level for a couple of years before moving up to a head coaching position. If you are certified in secondary science, you shouldnt have a hard time finding a job to move up from. Good luck.

I know where you are and that would be a great place to live. Does the school provide any housing and how is the above base pay if you can disclose this?

MustangCoach,
I thought you meant qualified as far as the state is concerned. Highly qualified just means a college grad and passed a TExES test.